February 2019 UF Webinar Offerings

 

Title: THE SALT DILEMMA: Growing Better Urban Trees in Northern Climates
Date & Time: Tuesday, 5 February, 7:00PM BST, 8:00PM CEST, 9:00PM EEST.

Dear Colleagues:

Can urban trees and city winter weather protocols peacefully co-exist? Join Utah State University Forestry Extension for a discussion on the latest research findings related to successfully growing trees under these conditions. Dr. Andrew Millward will walk us through his investigation of the surprising decline and mortality of trees planted using soil cells in a recent urban revitalization project in Toronto. While the research suggested salt was the culprit, there were a number of other factors. The project opened a discussion about changes to the way we design and manage urban trees. Adam Nicklin will offer options to reduce salt damage to trees, and talk about the role landscape architects can play in helping the urban canopy thrive.

Presented by: Dr Andrew Millward, Principal Investigator, Ryerson University (CA) Urban Forest Research and Ecological Disturbance (UFRED) Group; Adam Nicklin, principal & co-founder of Public Work, Toronto CA
Where: PRE-REGISTRATION is required for this session in order to provide the most streamlined user experience.  TO REGISTER, PLEASE VISIT https://extension.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Hylnpw3hTuG31doUzoJiGQ

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.