March 2018 Urban Forestry Webinar Schedule

March 2018 Urban Forestry Webinars

Title:  Nature and Health in Communities: A Review of Best Available Science

Date & Time:  Wednesday, 14 March, 6:00PM BST, 7:00PM CEST, 8:00PM EEST.

This webinar, part of the series, Understanding Urban and Community Forests: An Extension Webinar Series, offers a discussion on the research on nature experiences and their public health outcomes and how that research can be used to influence Urban Forest policy and planning. Presenter: Dr. Kathleen Wolf., Research Social Scientist, College of the Environment, University of Washington, and Research Associate with USDA Forest Service Pacific NW Research Station program about Human Dimensions of Urban Forestry and Urban Greening

Where: Visit http://www.conservationwebinars.net/webinars/nature-and-health-in-communities-a-review-of-best-available-science 15 minutes prior to start time. At that time, a “JOIN” button will be available on the webinar’s detail page to allow you to register for and view the webinar.

 

Title: The Green Heart Project: Studying the impact of trees and green space on cardiovascular health

Date & Time: Wednesday, 14 March, 6:00PM BST, 7:00PM CEST, 8:00PM EEST.

Louisville Kentucky’s urban laboratory is embarking on a study of how environmental differences within the city’s neighborhoods give rise to health disparities, and how local social networks and personal environments created by lifestyle choices affect individual health and well-being. This study will specifically examine the impact that urban forests and green spaces have on cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk. While previous studies have shown that exposure to air pollutants, like those found in urban areas, increases CVD risk and mortality, the impact of the urban forest and overall green spaces on CVD has not been directly assessed. This presentation will discuss the pragmatic, interventional trial known as The Green Heart Project, designed to test the hypothesis that exposure to neighborhood greenery diminishes CVD risk by decreasing the levels of local air pollution.

Presenters: Ray Yeager, University of Louisville; Chris Chandler, The Nature Conservancy

Where: Visit https://usfs.adobeconnect.com/ucf/ 15 minutes prior to start time. Enter the webinar as a guest by typing your name in the name box and click the “Enter Room” button.

 

Title: Real Facts About Climate Change & Urban Trees: How Should We Prepare

Date & Time: Thursday 15 March, 5:00PM BST, 6:00PM CEST, 7:00PM EEST.

Climate change is already impacting our ability to manage our urban forests. Join Richard Cowles for a discussion on management practices that may be employed to help ensure a sustainable urban tree canopy cover.

Presenter: Richard Cowles, Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, Valley Laboratory

Where: Visit www.joinwebinar.com 15 minutes prior to start time and enter the ID code: 206-666-939

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s