December 2017 Urban Forestry Webinar Schedule

12.17 Urban Forestry webinar schedule

 

Title: Tree Selection for the 21st Century
Date & Time: Wednesday, 13 December, 6:00PM BST, 7:00PM CEST, 8:00PM EEST.
Urban forestry and its vast array of BPM-driven tools offers an important strategy for increasing tree canopy, managing stormwater, and capturing carbon. Selecting trees to provide these services requires science-based information on the relative performance of different species over time within the context of a changing climate. In this webinar, Greg McPherson presents new research findings on climate-ready tree evaluation, urban tree biometrics, and surface water storage capacity to illustrate differences among species. On the eve of his retirement from the USDA Forest Service, Greg will also share his observations regarding urban forestry’s most memorable events, intrepid leaders, and ground-breaking research.
Presenter: Greg McPherson, USDA Forest Service
Where: Visit https://usfs.adobeconnect.com/ucf/  15 minutes prior to start time.

 

Title: Pruning Practices to Manage Risk and Enhance Wildlife
Date & Time: Thursday 14 December, 5:00PM BST, 6:00PM CEST, 7:00PM EEST.
Pruning is an essential part of any Urban Forest Management plan or strategy. Join Mark Reiland, UMasss, as he outlines how common pruning practices can be used to both mitigate risks associated with urban trees and also have a positive influence on urban ecology and wildlife habitat.
Presenter: Mark Reiland, UMass Department of Environmental Conservation
Where: Visit http://www.joinwebinar.com 15 minutes prior to start time and enter the ID code: 491-732-747

 

Title:  i-Tree Instructional Workshop: Using i-Tree Tools for Street Tree Inventories
Date & Time: Thursday, 14 December, 6:00PM BST, 7:00PM CEST, 8:00PM EEST.
This December’s i-Tree instructional workshop will review the tools which i-Tree has available for the Urban Forest Manager – analytical tools that use tree inventory data to quantify the dollar value of annual environmental and aesthetic benefits including energy conservation, air quality improvement, CO2 reduction, storm water control and thus enable more effective management of this invaluable resource – our Urban Forest.
Presenter: USDA Forest Service and Davey Tree
Where: PRE-REGISTRATION is required for this session in order to provide the most streamlined user experience.  Please visit:
https://goo.gl/1EjAgh

Title:  A Professional Interpretation of ANSI A300 Pruning Standard Updates
Date & Time: Tuesday, 19 December, 5:00PM BST, 6:00PM CEST, 7:00PM EEST.
ANSI is the acronym for the American National Standards Institute. It is the entity to whom professional institutions submit their professional Standards. Pruning Standards form the base for the specifications that are used in management. While we, in Europe, may not have such an entity and while many of our countries may not have any Standards, this webinar may offer critical food for thought in planning for the development of this important management tool. Join Julianne Schieffer as she reviews the A300 Standards and discusses how they will impact tree health and industry specifications
Presenter: Julianne Schieffer, Urban Forester, Penn State Extension
Where: Visit https://meeting.psu.edu/pacommunityforestry 15 minutes prior to start time. Enter the webinar as a guest by typing your name in the name box and click the “Enter Room” button.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s