September Urban Forest Webinar Schedule

September Urban Forest Webinars

 

Title:  Municipal Forestry:  Baseline, Trends and Dashboard

Date & Time:  Thursday, 7 September, 6:00PM BST, 7:00PM CEST, 8:00PM EEST.

Learn how US companies are managing and funding tree care operations. Dr. Hauer will cover a broad array of topics from tree risk programs and budgets to volunteers in municipal forestry including a discussion of his interactive dashboard that allows you to evaluate your existing municipal urban forestry program and define steps to improve it.

Presented by: Dr. Hauer, Professor of Urban Forestry, University of Wisconsin at Stevens Point

Where:  Pre registration required:  http://treefund.org/webinars

 

Title:  Adapting Landscape Plants, Policies, and Management to a Water-Limited Future

Date & Time:  Wednesday, 13 September, 6:00PM BST, 7:00PM CEST, 8:00PM EEST

Climate change, growing populations and demands on water increase the vulnerability of critical water supplies, resulting in a varied range of policies and community choices in urban water management. A thorough understanding of available strategies and their potential outcomes including appropriate urban landscape plant selection and tree and shrub irrigation needs. Tom Brown will present his work from the 2020 RPA Assessment regarding changes in temperature, precipitation as well as water yield, demand and shortages. Heidi Kratsch will discuss irrigation practices that can be adapted to water shortages and increasing water costs while sustaining urban trees.

Presented by: Tom Brow, USDA Forest Service and Heidi Kratsch, University of Nevada, Reno.

Where: Webinar at https://usfs.adobeconnect.com/ucf/

Use the above link to access the webinar room starting 15 minutes prior to the webinar start time. Enter the webinar as a guest by typing your name in the name box and click the “Enter Room” button.

 

Title:  Urban Green Spaces and Health

Date & Time:  Thursday, 14 September, 7:00PM BST, 8:00PM CEST, 9:00PM EEST.

An increasing amount of research has shown that trees and green spaces are cornerstones for healthy urban environments. Green spaces support stress relief and recovery from mental fatigue, contributing substantially to the health and well-being of urban residents. Dr. van den Bosch will outline pathways and mechanisms behind the health effects from urban natural environments as well as discuss present obstacles to policy and practice implementation and suggestions for potential ways forward.

Presented by: (our very own) Dr. Matilda van den Bosch, Assistant Professor, University of British Columbia, School of Population and Public Health and the Department of Forest and Conservation Sciences.

Where: REGISTER https://nasevents.webex.com/mw3200/mywebex/default.do?nomenu=true&siteurl=nasevents&service=6&rnd=0.850538751399084&main_url=https%3A%2F%2Fnasevents.webex.com%2Fec3200%2Feventcenter%2Fevent%2FeventAction.do%3FtheAction%3Ddetail%26%26%26EMK%3D4832534b0000000429ed40ca7ac33ffbf79e454978ce06146b84aeab68607635c523b85fef29e081%26siteurl%3Dnasevents%26confViewID%3D69640704623672414%26SourceId%3Dubc%26encryptTicket%3DSDJTSwAAAAQ0hQmpDQWlDzR5j2hFDpbm7bZQlTWCcRh4NYS1PmXSTQ2%26

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s