July Urban Forest Webinar Schedule

July UF Webinar Topics

 

Title:  Green Infrastructure – A Lesson in Change
Date & Time: Tuesday, 18 July, 6:00PM BST, 7:00PM CEST, 8:00PM EEST.
Green Infrastructure has been elevated as a means to an end for communities who are dealing with polluted run-off. From a design perspective, it has also been an agent of change in how urban foresters, engineers and landscape architects work together.

Donna Foster, a landscape architect with the USDA Forest Service, Northeastern State and Private Forestry, takes us on a journey of engagement and relationship building, exploring how past and present views on tree planting and design have merged while cultivating more respect and understanding between three professions as they work to reclaim unused lands, address environmental justice and create livable biologically functioning places in cities and towns across the nation.

Please access the webinar 15 minutes prior to the webinar’s start time. Enter as a Guest by typing your name in the name box and click the “Enter Room” button:

https://meeting.psu.edu/pacommunityforestry

 

Title: Cultivating and activating a natural infrastructure workforce
Date & Time: Wednesday, 19 July, 6:00PM BST, 7:00PM CEST, 8:00PM EEST.
Public demand has increased the need for natural innovations that make cities more environmentally friendly and more pleasant places to live. This demand has led to growth in the number of available entry-level jobs with some advancement potential, ranging from maintenance of urban gardens to installation of natural systems that manage stormwater flooding. Sara Lamback of Jobs for the Future will discuss the findings of the NatureWORKS project that identifies current and emerging trends in the green infrastructure workforce and examines the potential of these projects to spur job creation. Dave Gamstetter, Cincinatti Ohio Parks Department, will give illustrative examples of job training and job creation spurred by green infrastructure projects in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Connect to the webinar via the following link:   https://usfs.adobeconnect.com/ucf/

 

Title: Tree Growth and Response in a Changing Environment
Date & Time: Thursday, 20 July, 5:00PM BST, 6:00PM CEST, 7:00PM EEST.
Dr. Janusz Zwiazek, Professor and Tree Physiologist, University of Alberta, will discuss how trees grow and develop, and their response to changes in our climate and rapidly urbanizing landscapes. This is crucial information for the urban foresters, planners, designers and landscape architects who will be determining the Urban Forest of the future.

To attend, visit  www.joinwebinar.com and enter the ID code 759-113-739.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s